About us



Panathlon, global leader in sport ethics

The PCU Committee, as part of Panathlon International, organizes and endorses university sport events with focus on fair play and ethics in student sport.



Panathlon International associates 300 Panathlon Clubs worldwide. Panathlon International is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (resolution 11/6/1982) and is a member of the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF), of the International Committee for Fair Play (CIFP) and of the International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE). It also has systematic contacts with UNESCO. The main aim of Panathlon International is the achievement of the sporting ideal and the establishment of its cultural and moral values as a means towards the development and advancement of the individual and solidarity between men and people. Panathlon can be summarized as the network dedicated within the Olympic Movement to Ethics in Sports and especially Fair Play in Youth Sport. Among many initiatives the “Panathlon Charter on Rights of Children in Sport” is the most known, adapted by almost all sport federations worldwide. The PCU Committee, as part of Panathlon International, is active within the university sports domain. The President of Panathlon International is P. Zappelli, member of the International Olympic Committee Cultural Commission. More information on www.panathlon-international.org.





With resolution n° 21/11/CI dated 29/9/2011, Panathlon International authorized the establishment of the Committee of Panathlon Clubs of Universities (PCU Committee). In 1999 the basis of the PCU Committee was established as an independent initiative of Belgian and Dutch students, the “European Student Football Championship”. Over the years the number of sports was extended and the initiative was incorporated in the non-profit association IFIUS. In 2011, the association became part of Panathlon International and the initiative was welcomed by the 2011 President of the International Olympic Committee J. Rogge as expressed in this letter. The PCU Committee unites all Panathlon Clubs of Universities, supervises their sports and cultural initiatives, organizes the PCU Games, the PCU Drawing and Photo Contests and endorses – co-organizes – the PIUTT Tennis, the PCU Bridge Trophy and the PCU Chess Cup. A Panathlon Club of a University is a Panathlon Club connected to and named after a university or university college. The Executive Committee is elected each 4 years by the General Assembly of all Panathlon Clubs of Universities and is completed with the Secretary General of Panathlon International and the President of the PCU Games Council. The 2017 elections offered the following composition.


President, Peter Verboven

President PCU Games Council, Prof. Dr. B. Ghadimi

Secretary General, His Excellency Prof. Dr. A. G. Kotchofa

Treasurer, Prof. Dr. Francis baron Van Loon

Secretary General Panathlon International, Simona Callo

(Mandated to Paul Standaert)


Statutes and Regulations PCU Committee, click here. The 2015 Amendments to the Statutes and Regulations PCU Committee, click here.





Universities and University Colleges that consider ethics in sport and Fair Play an added value for the development of their students are welcome to create a Panathlon Club connected to the university. Participants of the PCU Games are automatically granted Panathlon International membership as a PCU Club. The establishment and working modalities of a PCU Club are simple and are explained in detail upon request by the PCU Committee. The PCU Club advantages can be summarized as follows:


Member of an IOC recognized association with emphasis on ethics in sport


Representation and voting right Panathlon International General Assembly


Representation and voting right PCU Committee General Assembly


Network of more than 300 Panathlon Clubs worldwide


Each member receives a number of times per year the Panathlon Magazine


Free participation in the PCU Games







18 PCU Clubs

PCU Antwerp (Belgium)

PCU Hamburg Helmut Schmidt (Germany)

PCU Teheran (Iran)

PCU Dubna State University (Russia)

PCU Mendel University in Brno (Czech Republic))

PCU Endinburgh (Scotland/UK)

PCU University of Paris – Saclay (France)

PCU De Montford University (England)

PCU Moscow Financial University (Russia)

PCU Verona (Italy)

PCU University of Gjirkastër (Albania)

PCU University of Mostar (Bosnia Herz.)

PCU Clausthal University of Technology (Germany)

PCU Aalto University (Finland)

PCU University of Kaiserlautern (Germany)

PCU University of Luzern (Switzerland)

PCU Catalan National University Students (CAT/ESP)

PCU Rome Tor Vergata (Italy)


17 YERUN universities, endorsed by PCU Antwerp (Belgium)

Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona (Spain)

Universitat Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)

Universität Bremen (Germany)

Brunel University London (England)

Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain)

Dublin City University DCU (Ireland)

University of Essex (England)

University of Eastern Finland (Finland)

Universität Konstanz (Germany)

Linköpings Universiteit (Sweden)

Universiteit Maastricht (Netherlands)

Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Portugal)

Université Paris Dauphine (France)

Universitat Pompeu Fabra (Spain)

Universita degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata (Italy)*

Syddansk Universiteit (Denmark)

Universität Ulm (Germany)

*Also PCU Club


8 AURORA universities, endorsed by PCU Antwerp (Belgium)

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (Netherlands)

University of Iceland (Iceland)

University of Gothenburg (Sweden)

University of East Anglia (England)

University of Duisburg – Essen (Germany)

University of Bergen (Norway)

University of Aberdeen (Scotland)

Université Grenoble – Alpes (France)


2 PIUTT Universities (Excluding PCU Clubs, YERUN and Aurora Universities)

Joined Institute for Nuclair Research (International Institute)

Moscow State University Lomonosov (Russia)


3 PCU Games Host Institutions (Excluding the University of Antwerp)

AP University College Antwerp (Belgium)

KDG University College Antwerp (Belgium)

Maritime Academy Antwerp (Belgium)


8 PCU Bridge Universities (Excluding the University of Antwerp)

University of Leipzig (Germany)

University of Leiden (Netherlands)

University of Utrecht (Netherlands)

Budapest University Association (Hungary)

Catholic University Leuven (Belgium)

Université Libre Bruxelles (Belgium)

Université Cathlique Louvain La Neuve (Belgium)

University of Nijmegem (Netherlands)